1 - 4 August 2024


Ralph Reader Prize

The Ralph Reader Prize was originally the Young Investigators Award and was first presented in 1980.  It was named after Dr Ralph Reader as a tribute to his encouragement of young investigators during his time as Medical Director of the National Heart Foundation from 1961-70 and as Director and Chief Executive from 1970 until his retirement in 1980.

The Ralph Reader Prize remains the most prestigious research award to young investigators by the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ).

Three finalists will be selected in either the Clinical or the Basic & Translational Science section, to present their work in the Ralph Reader prize final at the 2024 CSANZ Annual Scientific Meeting.

Applicants for the Ralph Reader prize should submit an abstract of their study via the portal, to be considered for other prizes at the ASM*, in addition to submitting their extended paper to the CSANZ office. Applicants for the Ralph Reader Prize must submit a paper of at least 2,000 words up to a maximum of 5,000 words. Click here for information and to apply.

*Please note the study can only be presented in one prize final.

Letter of Support

All submissions for the Ralph Reader Prize must be accompanied by a detailed letter of support from the Supervisor or Director of the laboratory or clinical service from which the work has emanated. The letter must be submitted to the CSANZ Office. The deadline for Ralph Reader Prize submissions is 11 March 2024. Please send your submission and letter of support to info@csanz.edu.au.  

For information, guidelines and to submit an application,
please visit the CSANZ website